Marvel, and the Lessons We Can Learn

I saw Captain America Monday and I loved it. At the same time, Agents of Shield continues to grow into itself (as I said it would). Just so you know, there are some spoilers for both of these below.

The connection between the two is something I find especially appealing. What I’m seeing in Marvel and Disney’s plan is an effort to build a universe. It’s a universe that’s already been developed of course, but if anything that’s more difficult. What they’re doing is distilling thirty, forty, fifty years of lore and story into a few movies and a television show (with more to come of both).

The point is, it’s a universe that is meant to feed off itself. No matter the property, it bleeds into the others.

The biggest complaint with Agents of Shield has been its compartmentalization from the movies. Its best moments over the past few weeks have been with its crossing into Captain America. Shield’s betrayal and the infiltration of Hydra, done so well in The Winter Soldier, is even better in AoS. If ever I didn’t see a betrayal coming, it was Ward. I sincerely hope that’s legit, even though it’s upsetting, simply because of the balls it took to do that and how viciously it took advantage of the assumptions so many made about the show.

All this feeds off itself. This is seen best in the after credits scenes that lead into other stories, but you can see it elsewhere. What you see with the movies are actually one long series with different POV characters, constantly referring back to each other, building off each other. Different themes, different elements, same flavor.

Look at Guardians of the Galaxy. Even this wild, crazy-ass insanity is tied into the second Thor. I don’t know how else it might, if at all, but it’s set in the same world with similar themes, if not setting.

What kind of comparison does that draw for you? Because for me, it’s exactly what I want to do with my stuff. Virgil’s stories are my main efforts, but I have a lot of other things going on. Recently, I released a story featuring an agent of the Coven (kinda my own version of Shield). I have other shorts as well, and am either working on or have plans for several novellas.

All of these are within the same world, the same universe of possibilities. My hope, beyond providing an interesting reading experience with a unique continuity and flavor, is that these will feed into each other. My novels are the movies, the big budget affairs that provide the blockbuster experience, with the shorts being smaller episodes.

Part of what I’m envisioning is a series of novellas. Two are serious possibilities, with another one that is kinda interesting but I don’t really know if I want to do.

The point of all this rambling, is getting down to a strategy, a business plan. This is mine, to build a universe of different stories, with different elements, that hopefully sucks in readers that enjoy the flavor of my stories.

That’s my strategy.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Movies, TV, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

