Kobo and Nook

So, I am officially all out on Kobo and Nook.

I’ve already discussed this a bit, but the process went really well. My already formatted document for KDP uploaded with no issues, the only difference being that Kobo and Nook have different cover image requirements. A quick change to the dimensions and that was corrected. Took a couple of minutes once I figured out that was the issue.

Kobo did take much longer than Nook Press, a good day and a half longer. Something to keep in mind if you’re releasing simultaneously.

From a dashboard perspective, all have advantages and disadvantages. Kobo and Nook have a really nice sales screen that shows everything all at once (including how much you’ve earned) but don’t seem to have a breakdown per book. Yes, you can break it down but you have to look at it book by book. Not a big deal for a guy with one book and a couple short stories (of which none have sold) but what about for someone with a dozen books? Nook does a similar thing.

Both of these are still better than Amazon though.

Take, for example, Amazon’s newest update. Now, in addition to sales data, you can actually see the payments issued to you all in one nice little screen. Nice as it is, it’s also a thing I can’t help but think is really late in coming. I think the most moderate of business owners would rattle that and a few other screens as a matter of fact. I was actually really surprised to see that Kobo (from what I can tell) doesn’t have this screen…but Nook does! Maybe I’m just missing it.

KDP’s is very streamlined, ironically Apple-like with all the white and just a few places to click. The problem there is that, in “streamlining”, they don’t offer a lot of features. The book dashboard is alright, but reports are terrible. The payments are nice, but the six week report is a mess. The monthly sales is also unusual. If it’s older than a couple months you have to export to a messy excel sheet.

For those that don’t know, don’t sweat the six week report. It compiles information from a ton of assumptions, including borrows, so don’t try and pick it apart. Until you’re getting paid, just look at how many books you’re selling. You’re more than likely not making much starting off anyway.

I still need to take a look at both sales boards (and once/if I sell a book, that’ll make it a lot easier) so maybe I’m missing some of this. Really, I guess, my point is just that KDP doesn’t seem to be holding its own on the report side. I know why they’re doing this, Amazon is very protective of their data, but it’s not understandable. I truly don’t see a danger of competitors being able to use the data of authors for their own business needs. Even if they could, they’d have to compile that data. They would need hundreds, if not thousands, of data points for anything to be meaningful.

In case Amazon is listening, I love them. Please don’t misunderstand, KDP has changed my life and is fantastic. Still, and hopefully they keep listening for this, this is an area of improvement. It is obviously something you have the ability to do (and probably have scenarios for), please do it.

I will keep posting on sales as things continue. I haven’t made a single sale on the short stories, but I am hoping it is at least marginally better with a full length novel.

Update: Just sold my first copy of Sorcerer Rising on Nook.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Publishing, Sorcerer Rising and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

