Sharing the Wealth: 02/07/2014

Matthew Gasda, on Indies Unlimited, compares indie authors to Apple, stating we don’t need to compete with big publishing. It’s an interesting comparison, but remember that this is a comparison between methadologies, or even industries, not companies. He is right though, competition from differing authors/publishers will only make it easier to read more. If they lower prices, who cares, it just means they can take the savings and buy my book.

Donald Maas Discusses the new class system. Yeah…this is the type of crap that led me to delete agents (including Mr. Maas himself) from my blogroll. I still have a few because I want a counterpoint, but this isn’t a counterpoint, it’s just insanity. Why would anyone paint a class system as a good thing? Joe Konrath responds to it with Barry Eisler, but my opinion can be summed up pretty easily. This isn’t becoming a class system, it is moving away from one. Authors are choosing to publish their own work because publishers a) fail to choose good work due to politics, risk, and their own workload and b) when they do choose manuscripts, they are loaded with abusive, manipulative clauses meant to control and extort said author. Some of the work being published is good, some is bad, like it’s always been.

P.S. on the above. Damn, then Dean Wesley Smith got into the fight. I had no idea about some of this. He then published his great Killing the Sacred Cows piece on agents, the very article that made me realize no author needs one.

Kobo has a new CEO, Takahito “Taka” Aiki of Rakuten, Kobo’s parent company that acuired them in  New CEOs can be good or bad. I have heard it theorized that Rakuten, who acquired Kobo from Indigo Books in 2011, might have a long game plan in mind for Kobo, this might be them beginning to move that into action. What I would voice, as an author (with no sales on Kobo) is the thing Authors like most about Kobo is their treatment of said Authors compared to other publishers and platforms, Amazon included. Japanese management is very different from U.S. management (I am only assuminng Canadian management is similar, sorry, I’m not knowledgable on that) and it can be difficult for people to adapt to.

Then I read this and went, HOLY SHIT! Sony has folded on ebooks in the U.S. and Canada (so frankly, they’ve folded) and inked a deal that will see them partnering with Kobo.

A look at Amazon and their publishing imprints. From what I understand, this is the one black mark on Amazon’s publishing legacy. Their imprints have been ineffective for the most part and, according to some, are starting to tighten up on some of their contract language. The result is a lukewarm response from some authors. I haven’t read much on the contrary, it’s always an announcement that a self-pub author has been signed by one of their imprints, if anyone has an article about an author’s experience being published by them, I’d love to hear it in the comments.

There is an MA on self publishing in the UK now. Huh. At first, all I could think was this is bullshit. There’s no reason to pay for a degree that you can learn about for free. Then I thought about the Bachelor in Business that cost me (really my parents and the company I work for) about $20,000. Then there’s the MBA (which has so far cost said company $8,000). Add in the time I spent reading through thousands, maybe tens of thousands, of articles from self-pub authors, industry analysts, agents, publishers, etc. and all of the bumps in the road I went through learning to format, make my own cover, edit, learn the tips and tricks of advertising and…well, maybe a degree in self publishing could be a possible thing. You could still learn it for free, but if it teaches some basics in business and entrepreneurship, marketing and advertising, possibly some design lessons for covers and image creation, formatting, editing, and even creative writing classes, I could see how this would be valuable. Maybe.

Kevin Hardman discusses his BookBub results. Love to see how well this works from others.

Nick Stephenson analyzes raising prices to raise book sales. Not a typo, read it. A lot of people think if you lower the price you’ll get more sales, not necesarrily true. Think about it like this, how many items to you purposefully buy because it is more. When is that a signal to you that it is a better product. Everyone has something. For many, it’s books.

Hugh Howey has an amazing post about an author who couldn’t stand being self-published. Howey basically boils it down to a validation issue, which really is the issue of so many. Where I am now, still such a beginner, I can’t help but look back at when I was terrified to do this and be embarrassed. It’s like being a teenager and growing up. When you look back, you can’t help but be embarrassed by what you were so concerned about.

Going ahead and throwing this up. I am off work today, so you’re getting it live, but that also means I have personal errands I have to run (and a test), oh yeah, and I told ya’ll I was going to have a rough draft of FayTown Calling out by February so I guess I need to write too!

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Sharing The Wealth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

