Rango

I’m always looking for something I can watch with my son, something we will both enjoy and yet won’t warp his little mind.

Too much.

So when I saw Rango on this weekend, I went ahead and flipped the channel. I won’t lie, it also helped that my wife took one look at it and said, “Ug, I hated that.”

I pity her, I truly do. I haven’t had this much fun with a movie in a long time. Part of it is going in with the right expectations, or no expectations. This isn’t Pixar or Disney, it is a surreal, imaginative commentary on Westerns. It has a ton of jokes that are inappropriate, some mild language, and tons of ugly characters, but it works really well. All the voice actors are great (with the unfortunate exception of Isla Fisher) and the story is fun.

Also, this happens.

I’m sorry, that was the best clip I could find. In case you can’t tell, that is a friggin’ fleet of moles chasing our heroes on the backs of bats, firing at them with Gatling guns, while playing Flight of the Valkyries with banjos.

What, I ask, more do you need?

It takes a special taste to like this. You have to have an affinity for westerns, anthromorphic animals, and the bizarre, but if you do, give Rango a chance.

 

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

