Goals for the Weekend (and beyond)

I have decided to set a very basic goal for myself, and it’s different than usual.

I wrote about 1,500 words last night, which felt really good but also felt really hard. I’ve discussed this before, but when I don’t write, it becomes that much harder to start when I finally sit down to do it. So instead of piling all my writing into the weekend, I’m going to try and write more during the week. I want 2,000 words a day, but I’d be willing to settle for 1,000, while still doing more on the weekend. I would like for the weekend to be more like icing on the cake than the majority though.

That’s not the goal though. The goal is to have a first draft ready to be presented to beta readers this month.

Woah…

Maybe that doesn’t sound like a short period of time to you, but it does to me. And I think that’s the problem, because it’s really not. I have eighty some odd thousand words done, this is all about putting in the last twenty plus thousand words and then polishing it up. I have the time, I just don’t feel like it. It’s all about mindset and really looking at the numbers. At just a thousand words a day for the rest of this month I’ll produce 27,000 words. I want to do double that with more on the weekend. IĀ should be able to get to the end in a couple weeks easy.

He he, ha ha. We’ll see.

So, that’s the plan. Part of that is because come November, I want to participate in NaNoWriMo. I wanted to do it last year and the year before but never really was in the position to do so. Now I am. I have a rough outline for book three and writing it will give me something to do while folks are reading the second. The goal is fifty thousand words, and at the same rate I should be able to produce sixty.

Again, we will see.

Goal for this weekend is just to get back in the groove of things. Not forcing anything, but at least that two thousand for the next couple days each.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

