Alex Verus Novels by Benedict Jacka

I can’t remember how I stumbled onto these, but I read Fated this last week and couldn’t help but love it.

The premise revolves around Alex Verus, a diviner in Camden, England. It’s very urban fantasy with a world full of mages, adepts, and a full blown underground political system.

I read the first in a few days, then knocked out the second in a night. Right now I am on the third and will probably have it and the fourth knocked out in a couple weeks (if I want to get any writing done).

What is so great about the series is that Verus, while very similar to Harry Dresden (Grand Pubah of urban fantasy), he handles nothing like him. In his world mages have a central talent that all their magic revolves around and all he can do is tell the future. While a hell of a lot more useful in combat than I expected, he is never tossing fire and wind around or anything like what Dresden (or Virgil for that matter) would do. It’s refreshing.

The only concerns I have with the story are the plot. They’re usually pretty easy to see through and for a guy who can tell the future, Verus tends to fail to see things coming. That said, it all works really well. You know who the villain is going to be, you know what plot points are going to be significant, but the execution is so well done that you just don’t care.

I will also point out something, the formatting has some issues I or any other indie author would be crucified for repeating. Each chapter has an odd dropped letter that takes up the space in the first paragraph, there have been numerous hyphens in the second just ins-erted into words (like that), and several instances of open gaps in sentences that comes from right justification. Not really that distracting, but I’ll remember that the next time an author from the almighty Penguin talks about an indie author’s formatting or typos.

I’ll get off my soapbox now. The series is great and if you are a fan of urban fantasy, it’s right up your alley.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Books, Fantasy, Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

