Converting to Epub and Smashwords

This is going to serve as my weekend report, because as ashamed as I am to admit it, it’s really all I got done this weekend.

Heartless - High Resolution (1)Heartless hasn’t done that well, confirming what I’ve heard: short stories don’t sell. I’m not down on that, because it was a lot of fun to write and I am trying to build a portfolio of work. I just hope those that bought it enjoyed it. I’m going to continue to write short stories, but I think they’ll be more for my world building than driving any type of sales. I will also include them in the newsletter, so if you want to be a part of getting free short stories (from this point on), sign up for the mailing list. I’ll still put the shorts up for sale, and by all means you can still buy it if you like, but you can also get it free with the newsletter.

I felt though, that this gave me the perfect opportunity to experiment with Smashwords. I’ve wanted to put something up there, but with Sorcerer Rising still being part of Select, that was a no go.

First, my impressions of Smashwords were…eh. I started my account a couple years back when I was first researching all this, but since then I haven’t gone back. I’ve also published my work through KDP since then and the layout and interface are night and day, to KDP’s benefit. I would like some of the options Smashwords gives you, but it just seemed antiquated. The worst thing to me was the inability to preview before it was published. Yeah, I can go back and edit as I go (which is what I’m doing now), but with KDP I previewed it until it was perfect before releasing. I can’t do that with Smashwords.

As for converting to EPUB, that is looking easier than I’d initially thought. I found a guide that showed me how to save to HTML, then use Calibre to do the conversion. It’s actually really easy once you know how. The only problem I have left is for some reason my EPUB file is 12MB. I have no idea what I did to do that, but Sorcerer Rising image and all is about 1MB. I couldn’t even upload the updated EPUB to Smashwords, it was that big. No idea what I’ve done wrong there.

If anyone has any tips or tricks, I’d love to hear them.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Converting to Epub and Smashwords

  1. I published at Smashwords back in July. My epic-length book was written using two old versions of Word. I followed Mark’s conversion guide, and the manuscript passed the meatgrinder on the first try. My only gripe with the process was how long it took them before somebody finally pushed the button that put it into the “premium” catalog. Smashwords has its limitations, but they all do, and no matter where you put your piece, the sheer volume of work out there is going to bury you, unless you’re willing to publish at less than the price of a Pocketbook paperback in 1963. Best wishes, from another aspiring Indie author.

Leave a Reply

