Baptized Into Fiction

You probably think I’m gonna talk about religion now, don’t you? Too bad, I don’t do that.

No, this comes from a topic completely separate from anything like that. Terminator 2: Judgement Day, also known as the best damn movie of all friggin’ time.

Yeah, that’s a rough segway, but it’ll make more sense in a moment. 

There’s a guy I work with, who in normal conversation (we were discussing just about everything from Fallout to the various comic book movies coming out) mentioned he hadn’t seen T2.

I honestly didn’t think I would encounter this.

Ever.

He’s one of us! He likes games and movies and monsters and superheroes and all the things nerds are typically interested in. We’ve talked Bioshock, Mass Effect, Call of Duty, Wolvering, the X-Men, Spiderman, Batman, Superman, Ironman, comics, TV, Breaking Bad, Sons of Anarchy. All that stuff.

It’s one thing for my grandmother to have not seen T2 (though she has), but for him not to, that shook my world. He hasn’t seen T2, arguably one of the best science fiction/action movies (would consider it the best of both fields) to ever exist. How, in the hell, did he make it into this range of interest without seeing this incredible movie????

Well, probably the same way I did without ever reading all the Lord of the Rings books. Yep, I said it, I am a LOTR virgin. Well, sort of, I’ve been to like second or third base but never a home run. I read parts of the first one, all the second, none of the third, and all of the Hobbit. Don’t even mention the Silmarillion. I love lore and worldbuilding, but Mr. Tolkein was long winded and wasted a lot of paper to tell you about everything that had ever happened in the spot the characters were standing in at that moment.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I have all the respect for Mr. Tolkein and his works. They are the bedrock on which modern fantasy was founded. There are ideas there that have influenced just about every fantasy writer in the world. It just doesn’t hold my interest. His work is just not one of the things that brought me into this world. In fact, if I had to tell you what it was, it would be Terry Brooks and the Sword of Shannarra. Honestly, I still tear up at that.

In Christian tradition, a baptism is an affirmation. It is the point where you declare yourself for your faith. It shocked me that he hadn’t seen T2 because this was one of the works that brought me into this world and made me into the person I am today. I saw this movie way before I should have, I was probably six or seven (which actually tells me a lot on why he didn’t see it, because he’s the same age as me) but it had a profound impact on me. It sparked my imagination.

It was my baptism, along with dozens of other things. Shannarra, Goosebumps, Animorphs, Beast Wars, Baldur’s Gate (even the ones on playstation), Pokemon, Digimon, Dragon Ball Z. There are others, in other mediums, that helped mold my imagination and tastes, but these are the ones that brought me in, hooked me, dunked me under and left me gasping for more.

And we all come into it differently. Little twists of fate and circumstance choose what we experience, in what order, with what, and all of that creates a cocktail of interests.

What baptized you into this world?

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Games, Movies, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

