What I Had Before Being Published

So at this point, I have sold 68 copies of Sorcerer Rising (Click there to make it more!). It’s been a little over three weeks so that averages out to just under three books a day. Honestly, and this isn’t me putting it down, just acknowledging the challenge of the endeavor, it’s far more than I expected to sell. At least at first.

So I’m pretty happy. I’m also anxious, fully expecting each sale to be my last. I know for a fact, as soon as I drop off the newly released list, my sales will see similar treatment. I am working on new content (short is almost done) and preparing several pieces to be published before the end of the year.

But what I wanted to write about was what I had going in. Honestly, that’s kind of the main point of this blog. I read several blogs on self publishing, usually from authors who had some form of platform. They were already published and they were just self publishing their backlog, they had published one book and their rest were never picked up, they were professionals in high profile positions, they had experience far and beyond my three years in the business world, etc. They all had advantages, they knew more people, they had more exposure.

And I let that bog me down. A lot.

What was I thinking? I don’t have a platform. I don’t have any money for advertising (barely even enough money to get what I needed to publish the book). Everything, except for a few people, told me that unless you had all that, self publishing was a bust. And the few that said “just do it” were people with dozens if not hundreds of titles to their names.

But I did it anyway.

Like I said, I didn’t have anything. I’m going to show you what I did have. Three books a day isn’t a lot, but its more than I expected and it paid for the expenses required to make it happen in the first place.

Hopefully, it will be more in the future, but it’s a good start.

So what did I have?

  1. A wordpress account. I was not a prolific blogger. I started it in August of last year (Hey, I missed my anniversary!) and for nearly a year that September was my biggest month, a whopping 153 views. When I released the book this August, that month overtook it with 250. Overall, I’ve had three months where I got over a hundred views, and half the time this blog has been up, I didn’t post a thing. I know, there are many people that get that in an hour, my point is a platform this did not make.
  2. I had a facebook profile, but no author page. No twitter account, didn’t even know how it worked. No linked in, for this anyway, and no other social media presence. By the way, something like a hundred friends and I get on facebook like every three months. I don’t contribute to forums, wasn’t in a writing group, and don’t have a massive group of friends to get to buy my book.
  3. A cover, which I got on selfpubbookcovers.com for eighty bucks.
  4. GIMP, which allowed me to edit said cover for free.
  5. Family who were willing to read the book and tell me if I was off my rocker.
  6. I hate admitting this because I just expect a massive malevelent god-thing to reach down and crush me with the tip of an eraser, but I did not invest in an editor. I have explained that all before though.
  7. The Createspace formatted file for uploading to KDP. It did’t take me near as long to format with that as I expected and if you have a ever taken a course on Office, you’ll figure it out.

That’s pretty much it. So if you are doubtful about self publishing, if you know that it won’t work, keep that in mind. I had nothing. I still have nothing, but it’s moving in the opposite direction at least. If you have a good book, make it a good book that can be read.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

