What I Learned Writing My Novel: Inspiration

Inspiration can strike from anywhere at anytime.

The central premise of my novel, the devise that drives everything, is the Arcus. It is a large band of energy that stretches across the globe. It goes so high it pierces the atmosphere, and its other end has never been found, though there are myths aplenty as to what it might be. For most of time, it has been thought myth as it has only shown up in the dark, barely explored parts of the world. But this time it has appeared right outside the city my main character, Virgil McDane, calls home.

This novel was based on a short story I wrote when I was in college. That story came from a credit card commercial. You heard me right. I tried finding it but couldn’t, which is fine because it was a stupid commercial anyway. In it, some hapless credit card holder has tracked the end of the rainbow to a leprechaun’s home and finds a credit card instead. And he can’t even use it because of the excellent security for….blah, blah, blah. You get the idea.

But it got me thinking, what if an expedition really tried to find the end of the rainbow? What could they find, what could they find on their way?

That simple, stupid premise spawned a 120,000 word (I hope) novel.

Since then, I’ve had inspiration for stories from a lot of things. The best times for me are either driving to and from work or mowing the yard, usually with a song playing that gives me good visual imagery.

So, the thing I learned is that I can be inspired to write from anything. Good ideas, or at least ideas I find intriguing, can come from anything.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in What I Learned and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

