Jeff Bezos Buys The Washington Post

I haven’t read very much about this, so what I am about to postulate may be crap. It seems like this was widely driven by Jeff Bezos’ role in Seattle and his affinity for the Post and maybe that’s all it will be, a successful businessman buying up a national institution to save it from financial ruin.

But, since Bezos hasn’t shown any interest in this type of business at all, I got to thinking. Amazon went from being an e commerce giant to a publishing giant, what if this is a way to have this side’s New York Times? The NYT is notriously a sounding a board for the traditional publishing industry and their works (NYT Bestseller’s list, James Patterson’s NYT ad, etc).Considering how Bezos approaches business, I’d be surprised if it hadn’t crossed his mind.

I’m not saying the Washington Post is going to be self -publishing’s New York Times…Well, actually, I kind of am. If a major publication started running books that counted some of the data Amazon has locked up, becoming a new advertising tool for their own leaderboards and rankings, not to mention pushing Amazon Publishing Imprint books, would that not offer more legitimacy to the product?

Again, I don’t know near enough about news paper publishing, the Post, NYT, or the NYT effect on major publishing, but I couldn’t help but wonder.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

