Under The Dome

I’ve been talking about The Bridge and my general disappointment with it for the past couple weeks. I realized last night though, at least it’s holding my attention. I thought about it after the fact enough to write about it.

Under the Dome, on the other hand, I’ve been watching for a month and just now realized I might have something to say about it. Which is pretty indicative of the quality of the show.

I don’t know what it is I don’t like, it’s just bland. I know the readers of the book really don’t like it, but I haven’t read the book so I know my displeasure isn’t from that. The premise is fine, and there’s a lot they could do with it, but it never seems to go anywhere. I liked the crazy kid holding his girlfriend in the bomb shelter for the first two episodes, but he’s steadily become more zany than scary and his dad is just one odd decision after another. The reporter is terrible at her job and, while I love the deputy turned sheriff, they keep flinging her back and forth between the tough, gonna fill the sheriff’s shoes cop to the bubbly, it’s my boyfriend! schoolgirl.

People are probably going to get mad about that, but they did the whole touch hands and kiss through the barrier right after she handed Barbie the roll of caution tape and told him not to let anyone touch the dome. It was cheesy.

The reverend was your typical crazy prophet but at least he contributed something. Oh, until he died. Now we’re just here with Hank from Breaking Bad, twiddling our thumbs while this town descends into chaos.

Honestly, even reading above, this doesn’t sum up my lack of interest in the show. It’s right on the tip of my tongue but I can’t figure it out.

I’m sure there are plenty who could comment.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

