J.K. Rowling and the Cuckoo’s Calling

News has been around everywhere about J.K. Rowling having written a book under a pen name.

I don’t have a lot to say about this. After the fecal matter hit the fan, her book shot up 507,000%. That’s not an exaggeration for humor’s sake, that was the reported number. But that was to be expected, she’s a huge name and the book wasn’t selling very well to begin with, not compared to her other works anyway. For a new author, in this genre, in this country, it was doing exactly as expected.

Overall, it’s not really a big deal. She was writing under a pen name, good for her. Her last book, a wildly different title from the Harry Potter series, was torn apart for not having owls and magical schools and Wizardly shenanigans. I didn’t read it, I don’t like serious dramas like that unless said Wizardly shenanigans are involved, but I don’t fault her in the slightest for trying something new. A lot of people say Harry Potter was a cultural phenomenon and that her writing had nothing to do with it.

Fuck that.

J.K. Rowling is one of the single best authors I’ve ever read. She is absorbing. I remember buying the Half Blood Prince and inhaling it in a day. I stopped when my sister drove my mom’s car through the garage door, helped my dad clean that up, then went back to reading it. When I finally finished it, I couldn’t sleep because the story was still swirling in my head. It wasn’t because of Potter or Hogwarts or Dumbledore, it was because of the words she had built all that with, the investment she had drawn from me with her work.

So if she wanted to write as someone else because she is an epic Goddess of the written word and had to descend to a mortal form because it was too easy to do what myself and just about everyone who reads this blog is killing themselves to do, power to her. Most people just would have sat back and enjoyed being the top earning author in history, not Ms. Rowling.

Though, she probably shouldn’t have claimed to be a cop/soldier. Just saying.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Publishing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to J.K. Rowling and the Cuckoo’s Calling

  1. Amy Lee says:

    J.K. Rowling is also a pen name. I made it up while working on ideas for Harry Potter. “Malfoy” is an anagram for “of Amy L”…and that is me.

  2. Pingback: Sharing the Wealth: 02/28/2014 | Story Arcs

Leave a Reply

