Trying Something A Bit Different

Okay, I am trying something new. One thing I miss about being hosted on WordPress.com was the community and the integrated distribution channel that provides. I miss it so much that I’m just gonna throw this out there, it would be great for WordPress to enable Jetpack to link posts to the blogging community and allow for followers; not just as email notifications but as part of that community. Maybe that is more difficult than I imagine, or maybe it already does that and I’m doing something wrong.

Since I started the new Story Arcs (enathansisk.com) the readership has been…limited. Yeah, that’s a good word for that. The reason I made a self-hosted site was for control and flexibility. And from that standpoint, I love it. It looks better, the plugins are fantastic, it has better pages, it feels like more than simply a blog, at least to me, and will continue to grow as I produce more content. So in all that, I love it, but I hate the way it interacts with WordPress for stats, followers, comments, and all the rest of that.

So I am going to experiment. This is now the blog portion of the website. It doesn’t match up perfect, but looks good (feel free to let me know how you like the new theme and colors). It will link back to enathansisk.com where all the information for my book is. Up at the top you can see it in the menu. Feel free to go there as it has the sample chapter for the book and will serve as the hub for all publishing news.

I don’t know how well this will work or if there are obstacles I am not accounting for. Probably both, but I feel that not taking advantage of the WordPress community and the power of that distribution is not worth any complications that might arise.

We will see.

Update: Didn’t realize that this was my hundredth post until I put it up. I can’t help but think that is a good time to return to this blog.

Second Update: It took me nineteen minutes to get more attention through WordPress than I did through my own site.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

