The Walking Dead (Game)

I actually started playing this a couple of weeks back but haven’t gotten around to discussing it.

And I really want to because this is fantastic.

I am currently on episode 4. If you aren’t familiar with it, this is basically a fancy choose your own adventure novel, a click by click adventure in the same fashion as Myst, but that is where the comparison ends. You have an established character, there is a lot of good dialogue, and several moments that will make you jump, cry, or scream. There are tense moments with good action. I don’t want you to think this is an action game, because it’s not. You get to kill plenty of zombies, but these moments are rare and take a backseat to everything else.

The storytelling is really what sets it apart. You hit certain moments that will pull on your heartstrings, others that will genuinely upset you. I have had characters I like, who I was invested in, die and had to pause the game to distance myself from the story. I wondered if there was anything I could have done to prevent it. Anything at all to avoid this fate. There are a few decisions the game gives you, but for the most part things are pretty linear, it’s just deciding who is present and who is angrier at the moment. It doesn’t give you good and bad moments or these winding choice paths. It gives you simple moments (that are timed by the way) to choose what to do. There have been a few moments I just pressed a button in panic.

This game plays for keeps. I remember in one episode everything was looking pretty good, and just an hour later I had lost over half the group.

If you like the Walking Dead, this is a must play. If you don’t, I don’t think it will have quite the same appeal, but is still a good experience. I am looking forward to completing this episode and for five to come out.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Walking Dead (Game)

  1. liamodell1 says:

    Great review! 🙂

    Oh and thanks for following! I really appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

