WriteWay And Scrivener

I actually have a few different things to write about, but I feel like this is one of the more pressing ones.

I tried both of these programs out over the weekend. If you don’t know what these are (and I can’t believe I’m the only one) they are word processors geared toward writers. I saw Scrivener mentioned on one of the blogs I followed, started searching around, found WriteWay on NaNoWriMo, and saw that if you sign on with them, then you get a 50% off coupon. It has a whole bunch of tool for dividing up a manuscript, keeping track of notes, storyboarding, and formatting. It sounded like it was worth the forty of fifty bucks (only $25 if you get WriteWay though NaNoWriMo) so I downloaded the demos.

I’d like to get some people’s opinion on these, because I hated them both. I messed around for each for a couple hours and just don’t like the format or the layout. Part of the problem was importing a story, which I never did figure out on Scrivener, but everything was just so complicated. The processor is weaker than Word, the ways it divides up stories is archaic, and I couldn’t even figure out how to view a whole document since it had divided everything up. I couldn’t figure out how to apply page numbers while writing and I couldn’t name chapters, acts, or scenes.

I’ve always used Word. It never occurred to me to try anything else. I know how to do everything I need on Word and it’s all exactly where I need it to me. I am by no means a Wizard of the technical age, but I’m not half bad either. Do I need to play around with it a bit more? Am I alone in this? Am I a dinosaur?

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

