Indiana Jones

This is the other thing that didn’t occur to me when I wrote my Star Wars post. Disney owns Indiana freaking Jones! (I also had to look up what Disney had actually purchased, turns out everything). This may actually be better than Star Wars. I’ve always wondered why this never took off like other franchises. I guess it was to retain quality, as is exemplified with the fourth installment (another good reason the property has been rescued from the Bearded Menace).

Indiana Jones is kind of our James Bond. Why not do what they did there and choose a new actor once the old one has decided to move on? There is certainly enough material out there in archaeology, mythology, and/or history to give him something to snap that whip at.

I don’t have as much to say about the awesomeness that is Indiana Jones, other than he is the American equivilant to Mr. Bond. He’s dirty, he breaks things, he’s uncivilized, he goes over there and takes all your shit, and still somehow makes the world a better place. He’s educated but his first instinct is to punch, shoot, whip any obstacle he meets, he is all about the furthering of knowledge but is a tomb raider. He’s a contradiction and I for one would love to see more movies with this character.

I don’t know if he’ll get the same type of love that Star Wars will. Supposedly, Disney is really more focused on Star Wars but we’ll see.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Indiana Jones

  1. hungryandfit says:

    Just posted about this too

    • ensisk says:

      I’m trying to be cautiously optimistic, but I have faith that this will end up being a very, very good thing for these two franchises. It’s a new age.

Leave a Reply

