Writer’s Block (And Week Plan)

I have gone a good two weeks without any real writing. Don’t get me wrong, I have written here or there, but it was largely inconsequential. I’m from the South so you’ll have to forgive me, I’ve just been pittling around.

I wanted the first novel revised and ready for reading again by November, but I am steadily thinking that goal isn’t going to happen. I am going to set a hard goal now, since I’ve not been writing like I should be. I want a thousand words a day and five thousand over the weekend. I have a lot of new material I want to add and I don’t think this is an unreasonable number. The only reason I shouldn’t be able to hit this is because the new material may not be fifteen thousand words worth.

Wednesday is going to be the really hard day that exhausts us all, but I’m going to stick to this.

Now, about the writer’s block. The two biggest things for me, that trip me up every time, are when I don’t know where I want to go, or I don’t know how I want to get there. When I first finished the manuscript, the first one was the issue. I had completed it! Yay! Now what? That questions dragged me down for weeks before I broke down and outlined what changes I wanted to make.

The other is trickier. I’m looking at revisions that require changes to other scenes and it’s a tedious process. Every time I have sat in front of a computer over the past few weeks I have not had the patience to charge through these scenes to get to the rest. That’s when I start brawling with my story, when it’s no longer about being pretty but just making sure I win. That’s when you write just to move the story forward. I know I’m going to need another run through, and if something is getting in my way, it needs to be brushed aside, sacrificed for the rest of the story.

It can always be rewritten.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in The Books, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writer’s Block (And Week Plan)

  1. jennnadams says:

    I usually change my scenery…not the scenery in the story, but the scenery of where I write. If it’s nice out, I’ll sit outside and sometimes the thoughts will begin to flow, or sit at the library, or the park. Somewhere different. Just a change of scenery can help some people with writer’s block. It helps me, hope this helps you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

