Not Rushing It

There are the scenes you want to write and then there is everything else.

That’s sometimes how I feel anyway. I had a little over a dozen major scenes in mind when I started writing this story, framed in a loose framework of a plot and various themes. When I wrote them it was usually the same. They’re the moments that you enjoy most and you leave off of excited and full of energy. It was everything you wanted it to be, and you know exactly where you want to go from there. The only problem is, you know, you have to get there.

All the scenes that connected these moments, they’re not what I daydreamed about, what I wrote my notes on, etc.

And you can’t just open on your next exciting scene. Sometimes you might, but more often then not this is where the story’s pace slows. From a narrative point, this isn’t a bad thing. It slows here, but just because it’s not an action scene doesn’t mean it’s not essential to the story.

They just may not be the most fun to write.

For me, these are the weakest parts of my story. A lot of the revisions I’ve been making are to these areas. They were glossed over, passed by, and left too short. At times there can be an advantage in that. When Indiana Jones is traveling to the next destination, there is a reason they use the map montage. It’s a great way to cut time, get everything they want across, and it even became an iconic part of the series. You have to know what to show and what to sum up in a story as well, it’s just that a lot of these show moments were summed up because they’re not that interesting to me. They didn’t have as much bearing on the story. Or I didn’t think they did at the time.

It’s part of what threw off the pacing. You need these little moments to set up the rest of the story. The fall in the roller coaster is to gain momentum for the rise.  Also, especially since this is a first person novel, this is kind of when all the other characters get their moments. This is when I develop them, their relationships, my world, everything. There just isn’t that much time for character development when everyone’s attention is focused on the guy being eaten by a kraken or the villain is delivering his last minute monologue.

Even now, since I’m focusing on these scenes and have a laundry list of revisions I want to make, I find myself wanting to rush other ones. But as I’ve written before, these are the fine details in the sculpting process. This is the exact time to slow down and take the time to get everything exactly the way you want it.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in The Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

