Traditional Publishing VS Self Publishing

I’ve posted a new page about traditional and self publishing. This is something I’m looking at a lot and trying to learn more about. I wanted it to be more than just a single post, something that could possibly be updated as I learned more, since this is an industry I want to be more involved with.

If anyone has anything to add, please, please feel free to. Thank you.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Books, The Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Traditional Publishing VS Self Publishing

  1. Judy Goodwin says:

    you need to add a third category–indie publishing, which is NOT the same as vanity or self-publishing. I recommend these blogs: http://kristinekathrynrusch.com/ and http://www.deanwesleysmith.com/

    • ensisk says:

      Thank you for the information, I have put these links on the page. Really like Mr. Smith’s blog. It’s an avenue I hadn’t even realized let along considered.

  2. dkorthbooks says:

    I don’t know that I would ever go the traditional publishing route. I have a publisher for my first two books and I can’t wait for my contract to end and do things the way I think they should be done. Going the Indie route, I control what my covers look like, when my book comes out for the public to read and how much I make on each copy. There are definitely pro’s and cons to every scenario, but I have been much happier with my last two books and a cover artist!

    • ensisk says:

      Thank you for the information, it was greatly appreciated.

      • dkorthbooks says:

        You bet! There are people who love having the low maintenance experience with a publisher, I just wasn’t a fan. I use Lulu and a cover artist now and don’t discredit the power of the eBook. Marketing is your friend…you will become quite intimate with promoting yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

