FOKSIC

In going through the list of agent blogs, I have read some great and not so great posts on writing and the publishing industry. One thing that lept out at me (besides how much writer’s digest needs to update these links) was the above acronym on Andy Scheer’s blog.

It stands for Fingers On Keyboard, Seat In Chair.

What it means is simple; to succeed as a write you have to write. The most important times to write are often the times when it’s the last thing you want to do. But it’s important to do it anyway. You may not come up with anything. It may be trash. You may pull out your hair and curse whatever deities you follow. But it will make sure you write the next day. It will make sure you have material. It will make sure that when inspiration strikes, your first instinct is to put it on paper. It is progress, bloody, messy progress.

I haven’t written, other than this blog, in well over a week. At first it was like an itch I couldn’t scratch, but now it’s becoming a little easier to live with. That’s the biggest threat I have felt as a writer. Tonight, I’m going to write something. Whatever it is. If I can bang out a scene, a short story (that’ll be new, short stories have never really appealed to me) start the second book, whatever, I’m going to write. Clarfication, I’m going to write fiction. Not a post, not a piece of the outline, fiction.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

