Terry Brooks and Patrick Rothfuss

A few weeks back, before I started the blog, Terry Brooks and Patrick Rothfuss sat down together to do an interview for the 35th anniversary of Sword of Shannara.

Terry Brooks is a master, the creator of four fantasy series that have inspired hundreds of authors. The Shannara series is a prime example of world building. Since the first story, this world has evolved from a Tolkien inspired high fantasy into an almost steam punk free for all of magic and politics. The Sword of Shannara was the first book to bring me into fantasy. Not one of. The first. This was the book my mom handed to me to graduate me from Goosebumps and Animorphs. For all those out there who were guided into fantasy by Gandalf the Grey, know what I mean when I say the Druid Allanon was my Gandalf.

And Rothfuss, he’s one of the latest and greatest names to hit the genre. I’ve read the Name of the Wind several times and if ever there was a better storyteller, I have yet to find it. The man does things with narrative I’ve never thought of and his writing is a perfect balance between being descriptive and poetic without being long winded. I was a bit disappointed in The Wise Man’s Fear, but I think that was a fluke. It sufferes from the same issues Harry Potter and the Extended Camping Tr-er, I mean Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows did. It wanders around waiting for events to happen and the main character gets side tracked easier than the Dragonborn in Skyrim. It’s still a ton of fun and I really think it’s an example of not being able to enjoy a piece because we don’t know the whole of the story yet.

Reading their exchange is, well, it is simply amazing. These are two of my favorite authors, shooting the breeze on everything from what they like to read, to how they write and what bugs them in life. It’s four parts broken up across their prospective websites. Links are below.

Part I

Part II

Part III

Part IV

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Books, Fantasy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Terry Brooks and Patrick Rothfuss

Leave a Reply

