Plan For Labor Day Weekend

Four day weekend coming up, and I have a plan.

For the first story I made an outline and I want to do the same for the second. A lot of big names (Looking at you Steven King) hate outlines, and that’s fine. Pretty much everyone (again, looking at you King) says that you need to do what is best for your writing style, and I have found that an outline, however organic, is best for me. Here I come to a decision I haven’t face before. Do I need to outline the whole series or make it up as I go?

I already have a document for things I want to do/use. I typed out every single scene, scenario, idea, character, plot point, moment, etc. that I want to see. Than I started looking for what would work well together. Right now I have about five stories that are a patchwork of ideas that I’ve had floating around in my head for a while now. It’s an ever growing list. There are a lot of little daydreams and half baked ideas that I haven’t put in and I am always thinking of new ones.

This weekend will be about outlining the series and making concise plot arcs out of these bits and pieces. I have story ideas, but I want to see how they would fit together as a series. Who do I want to introduce? What needs to happen before what? What possibilities are locked away by ordering things a certain way? This will be an experiment. How much of the series do I see viable, able to fit in with the fiction and tone I have created already?

My goals:

  1. I want to know what the second novel is going to be, begin its outline.
  2. Have a general idea of how I want the series to go. This can go either way, because with an outline for just one story things changed well over a dozen times as I was writing it. Even if I do this, I don’t see it being a permanent thing.

I feel like this experiment could go either way. I was a big fan of the X-Files but its continuity is all kinds of messed up. From what I heard Chris Carter changed his mind multiple times about what the final conspiracy was. I don’t have a final conspiracy, and I don’t mind reworking ideas as I go to make them fit in, but the last thing I want is a continuity that is all over the place.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in The Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

