SWTOR

This summer I played next to nothing. My best time for writing and playing happen to coincide. Throw in the football field longs list of things my wife wanted to do to the house before she went back to school and a one year old…and well, you see where this went. But now the manuscript is pretty much done, I’m still trying to figure out what the sequel will be, and SWTOR was on sale for $15, so…

A little back story. My last MMO was Guild Wars. Before that it had been EverQuest. On the PS2. Both times I had friends who were into it that could help me dive in and would be a friendly avatar in a sea of new people. But I love Star Wars and I especially loved KOTOR. It is the epitome of Star Wars fiction and a Bioware roleplaying game. I’m also a sucker for a good trailer, and the SWTOR trailers really hit all the right buttons. Take that team and have them make me a prequel and I’ll be in hog heaven.

My thoughts so far: Being a cyborg Han Solo wannabe is a lot less interesting than I thought it would be. I wanted to stray a bit from the usual force users, try and see the Star Wars universe from a different perspective. I don’t know if it’s his particular story arc (ha, I made a funny) or the combat with the smuggler, but I had to make myself play it.

Then I tried the Sith. Apparently I’m evil. I love, absolutely love, hearing actual voice acting from my digital puppet. I love being a snarky Sith Sorceress. I even love the combat.

Favorite moment so far, my first flashpoint. For the first time in an MMO in this moment, I felt like I was actually a part of the fiction. Like I was really one of a pair of up and coming Sith Lords with a bounty hunter and an Imperial official trying to further of our prospective causes. The agent kept answering all the dialogue choices light side, which I thought was ridiculous, because, you know, EMPIRE, until my imagination got involved and started picturing this girl as simply an agent of a government she truly believed in. The Sith were just part of making that government a reality.

If that sounds ridiculous, it probably is, but it was probably the most fun I have ever had in an MMO. I cannot wait to do more with this.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SWTOR

  1. rjeffersiii says:

    What server do you play on?

Leave a Reply

