Fridays

Our weekly holiday is here. It is usually followed by two days of celebration and four days of mourning.

Hating your job is one of those double edged sword deals.

On one edge, you’re doing it for a reason. Whether it’s paying for you to go to school so you can (hopefully) do what you’ve always wanted to, feeding your family, or just paying your rent; it’s there for a reason. Remember that there are a lot of people that don’t get that opportunity, and a lot that do and squander it. I have worked for the same company for five years. I love this company as a whole and for the majority of my time, I have enjoyed my experience here. It has made me the person I am and enabled much of what I have in life.

Then I got into sales and, well, whole other story…

That brings me to the other edge: it sucks. Whether its throwing boxes, dealing with customers, painting a bedroom, whatever your job may be, there is a strong possibility you might not like part of it. You might even hate it. It doesn’t pay enough, you’re treated like crap, and/or you rarely understand the thought process behind the people in charge. It keeps you from the things you enjoy, from the family you’re working so hard for, from all the hopes and dreams you want for the future. The same thing that makes your future possible will be the thing that keeps you from going back to school, chasing that opportunity, writing that novel…

But the only thing worse than having to go to work is not being able to. Celebrate your Friday (or whatever day might signal the end of your work week) and remember to think of that bittersweet Monday (or whatever day signals the beginning of your workweek) as a holiday in and of its own.

About enathansisk

My name is Nathan Sisk, and I am a writer and aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

